Prince Edward Island.—In this province, one city and seven towns have been incorporated under special Acts and 21 villages have been established under the Village Services Act. There is no municipal organization for the remainder of the province although it is divided into school sections which have elected school boards.

Nova Scotia.—Municipal organization in Nova Scotia covers the whole of the province. The three cities operate under special charters and special legislation. Thirtynine towns operate under the Town Incorporation Act but there are no municipalities incorporated as villages. Cities and towns are independent of counties. The rural area is divided into 18 counties which, in themselves, do not represent units of local government. However, 12 of these counties each comprise one municipality and the other six each comprise two municipalities, making a total of 24 rural municipalities. Supervision of municipalities is exercised through the Department of Municipal Affairs.

New Brunswick.—This province, as already noted, was fully reorganized as at Jan. 1, 1967. The 15 counties were dissolved and the structure is now comprised of six cities, 21 towns and 78 villages. In addition, there are local service districts but these are not municipal organizations and are excluded from this count. The remainder of the province not municipally organized is administered by the Government of New Brunswick; municipalities are administered by the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Quebec.—Municipal divisions in Quebec embrace the more thickly settled areas comprising about one third of the province and the remainder is governed by the province as 'territories'. The organized area is divided into 74 county municipalities which are divided again into local municipalities and designated as village, township or parish municipalities or simply as municipalities. The counties as such have no direct powers of taxation. Funds to finance the services falling within their jurisdiction are provided by the municipalities forming part thereof. Parts of some counties are not yet organized into incorporated units of local government, being in outlying areas and having little or no population. There are 309 villages and 1,101 townships and parishes. A small number of these are independent of the counties in which they are located. The Municipal Code governs local municipalities and the 66 cities and 178 towns have special Acts. The supervision and assistance of municipalities is through the Department of Municipal Affairs and the Quebec Municipal Commission. Municipal statistics are gathered by the Quebec Bureau of Statistics.

The active functions of the Montreal Metropolitan Corporation are limited because of the ability of the area municipalities to fulfil their own obligations. The Corporation services borrowings contracted before Apr. 1, 1961, when the Montreal Metropolitan Boulevard became a provincial responsibility, and apportions costs incurred in the area municipalities for streets constructed on each side of the Boulevard.

Ontario.—Slightly more than one tenth of the area of Ontario is municipally organized and the remainder is governed entirely by the provincial government. The older settled section of the province is divided into 43 counties, five of which are united with others for administrative purposes. Each county, although it is an incorporated municipality, is comprised of the towns, villages and townships situated within its borders. The local municipal organization is comprised of one metropolitan municipality, five boroughs, 33 cities, 155 towns, 158 villages, 571 townships and 18 improvement districts. Some municipalities are located in the northern districts which are not organized into counties. Supervisory control of municipalities is exercised by the Department of Municipal Affairs and the Ontario Municipal Board under the Municipal Act and other Acts governing aspects of municipal government.